Skip to content


  1. Ed Webb
    14 August 2015 @ 2:49 pm

    Good job on GC!

  2. Sam Geli
    16 August 2015 @ 9:43 am

    Naming officers for an organization of 18 million persons should not be done in haste. The complexity of these jobs has reached a point where job seekers may have to undergo a more thorough vetting process to be considered for a position.

    In today’s complex job environment, the church has many qualified candidates to choose from. While the number of potential employees narrows down during the nominating committee process, many professional organizations now vet applicants, a process that involves investigating an applicant’s background and qualifications prior to their employment with the church. Vetting is a good way to ensure the employee is a solid match for the job, the church should follow proper guidelines when dealing with potentially confidential information.

    While vetting differs from organization to organization, there are some key best practices to follow when conducting a background check on a potential employee. We should make sure that the vetting process is clear, concise and standard among all applicants. Every person considered for the position should go through the same background check. Ensure that the job descriptions and consent forms are easily understood and signed before the background check starts. Many of the positions that are filled by the nominating committee would be increased in quality and accountability if the nominating process could begin months earlier.